Kindle book updates mean you lose your notes

Got this email from Amazon today:

We’re writing about your past Kindle purchase. The version you received had Typos that have been corrected.

An updated version is now available. It’s important to note that when we send you the updated version, you will no longer be able to view any highlights, bookmarks, and notes made in your current version and your furthest reading location will be lost.

If you wish to receive the updated version, please reply to this email with the word “Yes” in the first line of your response. Within 2 hours of receiving the e-mail any device that has the title currently downloaded will be updated automatically if the wireless is on.